top of page

Surveying Brief

For this project we have been given the task to survey and draw up elevations for this chosen building located in Northampton. The first thing we had to do was look into the history or surveying and two types. Digital and Analogue.

We could do this alone or as a group, and I was in a group with Darren and the powerpoint covered the use of lasers and other methods before them.

First of all we needed pictures of the building from a distance and the surrounding buildings to provide a sense of how the building sits in the area.

We can use these images to update the plan drawing and add as much detail as possible.

Because of the location of this building I needed to stand in the road to get these pictures so could not waste anytime unless I was planning to bring the traffic to a stop.

As this building is being used we also needed to ask the owner of the building if he was okay with us taking pictures and measurements which he was.

As we could not get the height of the building with the tools we had the other way to do it is to get a high resolution picture of a full side of the building and count the bricks if we know the dimensions of them. Not the most exciting way of finding the height but seems to be the best way possible at the moment.

Above are the measurements that me and Darren were able to get whilst on site and from these I have been able to begin drawing up me front elevation. I decided to do it to the scale of 1:75 as this fits best on the page while still allowing me to include small details. I thought I would do a window and column drawing showing more detail on a close up view at scale 1:20, and a plan drawing at 1:80. My drawings have been put in my portfolio's and will wait until they have been handed in and marked unitl I add them to my blog.


bottom of page